In Georgia, law enforcement can arrest motorists for driving under the influence with a measured blood alcohol content of at least 0.08% or obvious impairment with a lower BAC. With the state’s implied consent law, refusing a breath test results in license suspension for a full year in addition to other penalties.
Read on to learn more about the fines, jail time and other consequences resulting from a Georgia DUI charge.
If you have no prior DUI convictions in Georgia, potential penalties in your case include a mandatory minimum of 40 community service hours, up to a year in jail, fines of $300 to $1,000 and one-year license suspension. To get your license back, you must pay a $210 reinstatement fee after the suspension.
A subsequent DUI offense within five years of your initial offense results in more severe penalties, including a mandatory minimum of 30 days of community service and mandatory substance abuse evaluation. If the evaluation indicates an addiction problem, you must undergo treatment at your own expense. Other penalties include fines of $600 to $1,000, a three-year license suspension and at least 48 hours in jail with a potential one-year jail sentence.
Third DUI conviction
If you get another DUI conviction in the same five-year period, you will receive the same penalties as with a second-time DUI plus seizure of your vehicle’s license plate, five-year license suspension, $1,000 to $5,000 in fines and a mandatory minimum 15-day jail sentence. In addition, you must pay to have your name and photo printed in your town newspaper as a habitual DUI offender.
Fines significantly vary based on the circumstances of your case. For example, you may receive an additional $200 fine if you have an open alcohol container in the vehicle at the time of arrest. Drivers should protect their rights in court if they face a DUI charge in Georgia.