Over 30 Years Of Experience in Family Law And Criminal Defense

  1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  → What are the potential consequences for a DUI in Georgia?

What are the potential consequences for a DUI in Georgia?

On Behalf of | Oct 13, 2021 | Criminal Defense, Uncategorized |

When people drive on the roads in Georgia they need to pay attention to the road and drive safely. All other drivers on the road expect people to drive in a certain manner and rely on them to do so. When people are distracted or under the influence of alcohol or drugs, they can make erratic decisions that cause accidents. These accidents can harm others on the road and the driver of the vehicle. That is why there are laws against drinking and driving.

While people can legally drink some alcohol and still drive their vehicle, if they are intoxicated they could be charged with a DUI. The law states that anyone who has a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or above is presumed to be intoxicated and can be charged. If people are convicted of a DUI, they can face criminal penalties as well as lose their driver’s license for a period of time. The severity of the criminal penalties and length of the suspension depend on a few different factors though.

Potential penalties for a DUI

For a first-time offense, people could be sent to jail for up to one year, pay a fine between $300 and $1,000, complete 40 hours of community service and have a license suspension for up to one year.

For a second offense within five years, people could face a mandatory 48 hours in jail, but they could spend up to one year in jail. The fine could be between $600 and up to $1,000 and they could be required to complete at least 30 hours of community service. The license suspension also increases to three years.

If people have a third DUI within a five-year period, they may spend a minimum of 15 days in jail. Their fine may be between $1,000 and $5,000. They will need to complete 30 hours of community service. They will have their license suspended for five years and the license plate for their vehicle may be seized.

There are many people who are charged with DUIs in Georgia. If they are convicted the penalties can be severe, but people only face these consequences if they are convicted. There may be defenses available and people may be able to avoid a conviction. It is important for people to understand their defenses and consulting with experienced attorneys could be beneficial.