Over 30 Years Of Experience in Family Law And Criminal Defense

  1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  → Criminal Defense FAQ

How Soon Can I Get An Attorney After I’ve Been Arrested?

It depends on the type of crime committed, but generally, you should be able to contact an attorney shortly after being arrested. Before or during questioning, inform the interrogating officer that you want to invoke your right to remain silent until a lawyer is present. At that point, the interrogation will stop until you’ve obtained adequate representation. A criminal defense attorney can help advocate for your best interests regarding your bail amount, bond hearing and other charges brought against you.

Thomas A. Camp is an experienced litigator who will fight for your freedom if you’ve been charged with a criminal offense in Georgia. Call 706-621-6284 today.

What Should I Do If I Can’t Afford Bail?

There are a variety of ways you can post bail, including:

  • Through equity in a property
  • Posting cash for the full amount
  • Working with a bail bond company
  • With the help of a friend or loved one

However, if none of these options work for you, you may be able to get a loan or arrange payment options based on good credit.

Can A Minor Go To Jail For A DUI?

It depends on how many times that minor has been convicted for a DUI offense, but even first-time offenders could serve up to 12 months of jail time. Multiple convictions within a 10-year period are likely to result in some amount of time in prison. However, a skilled criminal defense attorney may be able to help minimize the consequences of the offense and help avoid imprisonment.

Will I Need To Register As A Sex Offender If I Commit A Sex Crime?

Potentially, yes. If you’ve been convicted of a sexual offense against a minor or a sexually violent offense, you will most likely need to register. This could potentially include cases of spousal rape, sexting or solicitation of a minor. Work with an experienced criminal defense attorney to understand the intricacies of the state sexual offender registry in Georgia.

Do I Need To Identify Myself During A Terry Stop?

Yes, in the state of Georgia you need to identify yourself during a Terry stop. A Terry stop happens when the police detain someone for a limited time due to a reasonable suspicion that the person has just committed, or is about to commit, a crime. During a Terry stop, a person may also be frisked to identify weapons they may be carrying.

 Fight Criminal Charges Today

Thomas A. Camp has extensive litigation experience and has represented clients throughout Athens, Georgia in a variety of charges including those for serious violent felonies. Contact our office today at 706-621-6284 or reach out to us online for more information.